College of Cardiology

College of Cardiology

The College of Cardiology is an organisation created by Federal government and consists of 8 Belgian cardiologists representing the different hospitals and with different expertise in clinical cardiology.  

The mission of the college is to promote the quality of cardiovascular care with the ultimate goal to reduce cardiovascular morbidity and mortality. 

To this end, they will develop in collaboration with the Belgian Society of Cardiology and its working groups tools for better implementation of European guidelines in daily cardiology practice in Belgium. 

The main instruments are: edition of quality handbook, organization of educational meetings, creation of national registries  with identification of quality indicators for key cardiac pathologies and organization of feedback and control processes 

COC Board:

  • Chairman: Prof. A. Pasquet
  • Secretary:  Marc Claeys 
  • Members:  David Raes, Luc Janssen, Georges Mairesse, Sofie Gevaert, Claude Hanet, Murielle Morissons