Welcome to BSC - Register or Login

Belgian Working group on Heart Failure and Cardiac Failure


The Belgian Working Group on Heart Failure (BWGHF) was established in 2004 as one of the official working group of the Belgian Society of Cardiology.

This association was created with the following objectives:

  1. Promote the quality of the management of heart failure in Belgium.
  2. Establish, disseminate and follow the implementation of the scientific guidelines in education, continuing education and clinical practice for the treatment of heart failure.
  3. Promote scientific exchange and to encourage basic and clinical research in the field of the management of heart failure.
  4. Increase the awareness of heart failure in Belgium.
  5. Promote collaboration between the different working groups of the BSC.
  6. Be an interlocutor in collaboration with the Belgian Society of Cardiology with healthcare authorities.

Official website & more information: http://bwghf.be
Websites for patients: insuffisance-cardiaque.be & hart-falen.be
Twitter Account: https://twitter.com/BWGHF


Conditions for membership

  1. Being active as a cardiologist in Belgium.
  2. The candidate should have interest and / or expertise in the management of heart failure.
  3. The application must be accepted by the Bureau.
  4. The application must be submitted by the candidate in writing to the Board of the Belgian Working Group on Heart Failure (see secretariat)
  5. The candidate must be in order of contribution from the Belgian Society of Cardiology.
  6. The possible non-admissibility of the application is notified to the applicant.
    At his request, the applicant may request to be heard by the Bureau.

Upcoming events

Autumn 2016 : Educational course – Fellows of Heart Failure, Brussel
Autumn 2016 : Local HF-courses for GP

Docteur Pierre Troisfontaines
CHR de la Citadelle
Service Cardiologie
Bvd du 12ème de Ligne, 1
4000 Liège
Tel: 04/225.61.73
Fax: 04/2264747
Email: troisfontaines@chrcitadelle.be

Professor Wilfried Mullens
Ziekenhuis Oost-Limburg
Dienst Cardiologie
Schiepse Bos 6
3600 Genk
email: wilfried.mullens@zol.be

Dokter Walter Droogné
UZ Gasthuisberg
Dienst Cardiologie
Herestraat 49
3000 Leuven
Email: droogne@uz.kuleuven.ac.be

Professeur Olivier Gurné
Cliniques Universitaires St Luc
Service Cardiologie
Avenue Hippocrate, 10
1200 Bruxelles
Tel: 02/7642888
Fax: 02/7648951

Docteur Philippe Blouard
Clinique Saint Luc Bouge
Service de cardiologie
Rue Saint Luc, 8
5004 Bouge
Tel: +32 (0)81209013
Fax : +32 (0)81209885
Email: philippe.blouard@slbo.be

Dokter David Raes
Professeur JL Vachiery
Professor Walter Van Mieghem


Docteur Arnaud Ancion
CHU Liège

Docteur Philippe Blouard
Clinique St Luc, Bouge

Dokter Michel De Pauw
University Hospital Ghent

Dokter Herbert De Raedt
OLV Aalst

Dokter David Derthoo
AZ Groeninge, Kortrijk

Dokter Dierckx Riet
OLV Aalst

Dokter Walter Droogné
UZ Gasthuisberg, Leuven

Dokter Matthias Dupont
Ziekenhuis Oost-Limburg, Genk

Docteur Floris Nicolas
Clinique St Luc, Bouge

Docteur Laurence Gabrielle
CHU Mont Godinne

Dokter Robert Geukens
Virga Jesse Ziekenhuis,Hasselt

Dokter Marc Goethals
OLV Aalst

Professeur Olivier Gurné
Cliniques Universitaires St Luc

Dokter Hofkens Pieter

Docteur Melissopoulou Maria
CHR de la Citadelle, Liège

Professor Wilfried Mullens
Ziekenkuis Oost Limburg, Genk

Docteur Eric Nellessen
CHR Verviers

Dokter Patrick Noyens
Ziekenkuis Oost Limburg, Genk

Docteur Béatrice Peperstraete
CHU Brugmann, Bruxelles

Professeur Anne-Catherine Pouleur
Cliniques Universitaires St Luc, Bruxelles

Dokter David Raes
GZA Sint-Augustinus, Wilrijk

Dokter Walter Smolders
AZ Klina, Antwerpen

Dokter Ph. Timmermans
Hartcentrum Jessa Ziekenhuis, Hasselt

Docteur Pierre Troisfontaines
CHR de la Citadelle, Liège

Professeur Jean-Luc Vachiery
Hopital Erasme, Bruxelles

Professor Vancraenbroeck Emeline
UZ Antwerpen

Dokter Vandekerckhove Hans
AZ Sint-Lucas

Professor Johan Vanhaecke
UZ Gasthuisberg, Leuven

Dokter Caroline Weytjens
UZ Brussel